Mattress Warranties Compared: What Actually Gets Covered (2026)
A side-by-side comparison of mattress warranties using each brand's own published terms: sag thresholds, prorating, foundation rules and who pays shipping.
Mattress warranties are marketed in years and decided in inches. A “lifetime warranty” means nothing on its own — what matters is how deep a dip has to be before the brand calls it a defect, how many of those years are actually free, what the foundation under the bed has to look like, and who pays freight when a king-size mattress has to move. This page puts those four things side by side, using each brand’s own published warranty document. Nothing here is estimated or summarised from a marketing page.
The four things that decide whether a claim is paid
1. The sag threshold. Almost every mattress warranty covers “body impressions” only past a specific depth, measured with nothing on the bed. Tempur-Pedic sets the most claimable bar in this comparison at 0.75 inches; the common industry figure is 1.5 inches, which is a lot of dip to live with before you qualify.
2. Prorating. A 25-year or lifetime warranty usually means ten free years followed by a sliding scale where you pay a percentage of the price. The number that matters is the non-prorated period, not the headline term.
3. Foundation and support requirements. Slats spaced too far apart, a missing centre support on a queen or larger, or an unsupportive base voids the sag claim at nearly every brand. This is the single most common reason a legitimate-looking dip is refused.
4. Who pays to move the mattress. Even inside a free coverage window, transportation, handling and inspection costs are frequently the owner’s responsibility. That can turn an approved claim into a bill.
How we built this comparison
Each brand’s row is populated from its current, publicly published warranty page or warranty PDF, stored with the exact quote and the source link. If a brand does not state a figure, we leave it marked “Not specified” — we do not fill gaps with the industry norm. We are a mattress retailer, so we also link the model of each brand we have measured ourselves; our measurement protocol is documented at how we test mattresses. Warranty terms change, and terms can differ by model within one brand: always read the document linked in the table before you buy.
Mattress warranty comparison table
Every figure below is taken from the brand’s own current warranty document, linked in the last column. Where a brand does not publish a number, the cell says “Not specified” rather than an estimate. 142 mattresses: 51 with complete standardized lab records and 91 with partial records. Partial means some standardized measurements are available, but the full testing record is not yet complete.
| Brand | Length | Non-prorated | Sag threshold | Your costs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tempur-Pedic Read our TEMPUR-LUXEbreeze review | 10 years | 10 years | 0.75″ | Transportation costs are the purchaser’s responsibility, capped at Tempur-Pedic’s standard freight charges. | Warranty terms |
| Casper Read our Casper Snow Max review | 10 years | 10 years | 1″ | Not specified | Warranty terms |
| Purple Read our Purple Rejuvenate Plus review | 10 years | 10 years | 1″ | For any valid limited warranty claim made after 100 days from the original date of purchase, any transportation costs associated with the repair or replacement of the Purple mattress are the purchaser’s responsibility. | Warranty terms |
| Avocado Read our Avocado Mattress review | 25 years | 10 years | 1.5″ | Prorated replacements from year 11 also carry transportation and/or shipping charges. | Warranty terms |
| Bear Read our Bear Hybrid Mattress review | Lifetime (original owner) | 10 years | 1.5″ | Prorated replacements are charged at a percentage of the then-current retail price. | Warranty terms |
| Brooklyn Bedding Read our Spartan Mattress review | Lifetime (original owner) | 10 years | 1.5″ | Not specified | Warranty terms |
| GhostBed Read our GhostBed Luxe review | 25 years | 10 years | 1.5″ | Years 11 through 25 replacement carries a prorated charge plus transportation costs, or repair at a handling cost. | Warranty terms |
| Leesa Read our Leesa Legend Mattress review | Lifetime (original owner) | 10 years | 1.5″ | Transportation or shipping costs associated with repairs or replacements are the purchaser’s responsibility. | Warranty terms |
| Nectar Read our Nectar Premier Hybrid review | Lifetime (original owner) | 10 years | 1.5″ | In years 10+, you will be responsible for a $50 shipping fee, each way, associated with shipping replaced or repaired Mattress. | Warranty terms |
| Saatva Read our Saatva Classic review | Lifetime (original owner) | Not specified | 1.5″ | A processing fee of $99 applies to the optional Fairness Replacement Option for foundations. | Warranty terms |
Brand-by-brand warranty terms
Tempur-Pedic — 10 years
Sag threshold: 0.75″. Non-prorated period: 10 years. After that: None. All 10 years are non-prorated — Tempur-Pedic repairs or replaces at no charge for the full term.
“Deterioration causing the mattress to have a visible indentation greater than three-fourths (0.75) of an inch (measured without applying weight or pressure to the mattress) that is not associated with an indentation or sag which results from physical abuse or damage to the mattress, use of an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable bed base, or other misuse of the mattress.” — Tempur-Pedic warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: Indentation caused by an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable base is excluded.
What voids or excludes a claim: Physical abuse, damage or other misuse of the mattress is excluded.
What a claim can cost you: Transportation costs are the purchaser’s responsibility, capped at Tempur-Pedic’s standard freight charges.
Applies to mattresses and flat foundations purchased October 1, 2022 to present.
Casper — 10 years
Sag threshold: 1″. Non-prorated period: 10 years. After that: None stated for the mattress term; clearance and final-sale items may carry shorter terms.
“Deterioration causing the Mattress to have a visible indentation greater than one (1) inch that is not associated with an indentation or sag which results from use of an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable bed base.” — Casper warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: Indentation resulting from an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable base is excluded.
What voids or excludes a claim: Products sold as "Final Sale" or "Clearance" items may be covered by shorter warranty terms.
What a claim can cost you: Not specified
Purple — 10 years
Sag threshold: 1″. Non-prorated period: 10 years. After that: None. The 10-year term is not prorated, but transportation costs shift to the buyer after 100 days.
“The materials of construction develop a visible indentation in the mattress greater than one (1) inch.” — Purple warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: The warranty applies only when proper mattress support is used.
What voids or excludes a claim: Comfort preferences and normal body impressions of less than 1 inch are excluded.
What a claim can cost you: For any valid limited warranty claim made after 100 days from the original date of purchase, any transportation costs associated with the repair or replacement of the Purple mattress are the purchaser’s responsibility.
Avocado — 25 years
Sag threshold: 1.5″. Non-prorated period: 10 years. After that: Years 11-25 are prorated: 50% of the original price in year 11, rising 5% per year to 95%, plus shipping.
“Any VISIBLE indentation equal or greater than one and a half (1.5) inches that is NOT associated with or resulting from faulty or improper usage.” — Avocado warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: Avocado recommends its heavy-duty foundation for higher weight capacities to prevent sagging.
What voids or excludes a claim: A normal increase in softness due to normal usage is not a defect.
What a claim can cost you: Prorated replacements from year 11 also carry transportation and/or shipping charges.
The Luxury Plush Pillow-top and Ultra Plush Box-Top require a 2-inch indentation instead of 1.5 inches.
Bear — Lifetime (original owner)
Sag threshold: 1.5″. Non-prorated period: 10 years. After that: From year 11 the buyer pays 50% of current retail, 60% in years 16-20, and 75% from year 21.
“Deterioration causing the Mattress to have a visible indentation greater than one and one-half (1.5) inches that is not associated with an indentation or sag which results from use of an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable bed base.” — Bear warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: Indentation traced to an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable base is excluded.
What voids or excludes a claim: Normal increase in softness and comfort preference are excluded.
What a claim can cost you: Prorated replacements are charged at a percentage of the then-current retail price.
Marketed as a limited lifetime warranty; only the first 10 years are non-prorated.
Brooklyn Bedding — Lifetime (original owner)
Sag threshold: 1.5″. Non-prorated period: 10 years. After that: From year 11 replacement is at a prorated charge to the original purchaser.
“Deterioration causing the Mattress to have a visible indentation greater than one and one-half (1.5) inches that is not associated with an indentation or sag which results from use of an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable bed base.” — Brooklyn Bedding warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: Indentation traced to an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable base is excluded.
What voids or excludes a claim: Normal increase in softness and comfort preference are excluded.
What a claim can cost you: Not specified
Marketed as a limited lifetime warranty; only the first 10 years are non-prorated.
GhostBed — 25 years
Sag threshold: 1.5″. Non-prorated period: 10 years. After that: Years 11-25 are prorated: 50% in year 11, then +5% per year in years 12-15, +4% in 16-20 and +1% in 21-25.
“Any visible and lasting indentation (body impression) greater than 1.5" not associated with a sag in the foundation, box spring, or platform (mattress support).” — GhostBed warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: Indentation associated with a sag in the foundation, box spring or platform is excluded.
What voids or excludes a claim: Physical flaws must occur despite normal usage and proper support.
What a claim can cost you: Years 11 through 25 replacement carries a prorated charge plus transportation costs, or repair at a handling cost.
Terms shown are the 25-year document covering Flex, Luxe, 3D Matrix and Natural; other GhostBed models range from 10 to 25 years.
Leesa — Lifetime (original owner)
Sag threshold: 1.5″. Non-prorated period: 10 years. After that: From year 11 the buyer pays 50% of current retail, 60% in years 16-20, and 75% from year 21.
“Deterioration causing the Mattress to have a visible indentation greater than one and one-half (1.5) inches that is not associated with an indentation or sag which results from use of an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable bed base.” — Leesa warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: Indentation traced to an improper or unsupportive foundation or adjustable base is excluded.
What voids or excludes a claim: Normal increase in softness and comfort preference are excluded.
What a claim can cost you: Transportation or shipping costs associated with repairs or replacements are the purchaser’s responsibility.
Marketed as a limited lifetime warranty; only the first 10 years are non-prorated.
Nectar — Lifetime (original owner)
Sag threshold: 1.5″. Non-prorated period: 10 years. After that: Coverage continues past year 10 as repair, re-cover or replacement, but the owner pays shipping each way.
“Deterioration causing the Mattress to have a visible indentation greater than one and one half inches (1.5") that is not associated with an indentation or sag which results from use of an improper or unsupportive foundation or bed base.” — Nectar warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: Indentation traced to an improper or unsupportive foundation or bed base is excluded.
What voids or excludes a claim: Comfort preference and normal softening are excluded.
What a claim can cost you: In years 10+, you will be responsible for a $50 shipping fee, each way, associated with shipping replaced or repaired Mattress.
Marketed as the Forever Warranty; the first 10 years are the full-coverage period.
Saatva — Lifetime (original owner)
Sag threshold: 1.5″. Non-prorated period: Not specified. After that: Lifetime for the original owner. Foundations move to repair-and-recover from year 3, with an optional paid replacement path.
“Body impressions greater than 1.5" are covered by the warranty.” — Saatva warranty terms
Foundation and support rules: Your warranty will remain valid if the mattress has been used on a platform bed with either a solid surface or slats spaced less than 4" apart and a center support for queen and larger sizes.
What voids or excludes a claim: Warranty does not apply if the mattress has been stained, burned or otherwise abused, damaged, or tampered with.
What a claim can cost you: A processing fee of $99 applies to the optional Fairness Replacement Option for foundations.
Saatva calls this a lifetime warranty for the original purchaser rather than a fixed year count.
Brands not yet in this comparison
This page covers the 10 brands whose warranty documents we could retrieve and quote directly. Helix, WinkBeds, Naturepedic are missing because their warranty pages could not be retrieved first-party at build time, not because of anything about their coverage. We will add them once we can quote the current document. If a brand you are considering is absent, ask for the warranty PDF before you order — any brand that will not send it is telling you something.
Reading a warranty before you buy
Ask five questions and you will know more than most shoppers: how deep does the sag have to be, how many years are non-prorated, what foundation is required, what will I be charged if a claim is approved, and does the warranty survive if I sell the bed or buy it second-hand? Nearly every warranty in this comparison is limited to the original purchaser, which means a mattress bought used generally carries no coverage at all. Keep your law tag and your receipt — most brands require both, and a removed law tag is a standard reason to deny a claim.
Frequently asked questions
Is a lifetime mattress warranty better than a 10-year warranty?
Not necessarily. Compare the non-prorated period instead. A flat 10-year warranty with no prorating and a low sag threshold can be more valuable than a lifetime warranty where you pay 50% or more of the price from year 11 onward.
What does “prorated” actually cost me?
It means you pay a share of the mattress price for a replacement, rising each year. In this comparison, prorated schedules typically start around half the original or current retail price in year 11.
Does a mattress warranty cover comfort?
No. Warranties cover manufacturing defects and excessive sagging. If the bed simply feels wrong, that is what the sleep trial is for — see our mattress trial periods compared guide.
Can a bad foundation really void my warranty?
Yes, and it is the most common cause of denial. Check the slat-spacing and centre-support wording in the table above before you buy a bed frame.
Are warranties transferable if I sell the mattress?
Almost never. The warranties in this comparison run to the original purchaser only.
Can I ask you about a warranty in person?
Yes. Bring your questions to the Yawnder San Diego showroom in Encinitas, where you can also try the mattresses we stock before you commit.
Yawnder Reviews independently selects every product we cover. This article may contain affiliate links — if you buy through them, Yawnder earns a commission at no extra cost to you. Pricing reflects publicly listed MSRP at time of publication and may change.